top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

The Valentine's Day Struggle

Song of Solomon 3:2- I will get up now and go about the city, through its streets and squares; I will search for the one my heart loves. So I looked for him but did not find him.

It’s that time of year again, when the grocery isles get packed with chocolate heart shaped boxes and EVERYBODY seems to magically get paired of together. Yes, you guessed it! Valentine’s Day is around the corner and love is in the air! At least for everybody else except me anyways… This is the time when I feel like I am drowning in a sea of couples while I firmly remain single. Don’t get me wrong, I take pride in being single! I am normally a strong believer of the benefits that staying single has and only dating when you find a person that is equally yoked (has the same faith/ passion for God) that you do. Yet, as Valentine’s Day approaches, a lot of doubt and lonely feelings overpower me. I’m sure than most of us have felt it! Even though we say to ourselves that we are fine being single, the thoughts of wanting to be with someone slowly seep into our mind until eventually it’s the only thing we think about. I mean, I know and believe that God has somebody for me, but sometimes I can’t help to wonder if he fell down a well somewhere or if he’s too busy saving a bag full of kittens from a burning building. Sometimes I feel like the woman in the Song of Solomon 3:2, she searched and searched for her beloved but still could not find him. Times like these are when I like to recollect my thoughts and place God back in the center of my life. Yes, deep down we all desire to be in a loving relationship, but the Bible says that if we “delight in the LORD, he will give us the desires of our hearts” (Psalm 37:4)! If we would just place God first and WAIT on his appropriate timing, He will bless us with what we desire. Also, as we wait for our Prince Charming to come along, we can reflect and give praise to our one true love that has always been there for us. The one that takes his time to number all the hairs on our head and tells not to be afraid because we are worth more to him than many sparrows (Luke 12:7). As this Valentine’s Day rolls along, we can put the desires of our hearts in God’s hands, and stand with our feet firmly planted on the truth. We are not alone because we are loved by our heavenly father!


bottom of page